Yolanda Garcia Community Planner Award

Yolanda Garcia Way

Nominations now being accepted for the 2013 award

Click here to nominate an exceptional community planner from your neighborhood. Nominations will be accepted until April 19, 2013.

The Yolanda Garcia Community Planner Award acknowledges the hard-working leaders of grassroots, community-based planning. The award was created to commemorate Yolanda Garcia, a community activist in the South Bronx. Under Garcia’s leadership, the residents of Melrose challenged the city, created an alternative to an urban renewal plan, and transformed a neighborhood. The organization created by Garcia, We Stay/Nos Quedamos, is bringing that community’s vision to life through planning, design, construction, and programming.  Since 2007, MAS has awarded this honor to inspirational grassroots community-based planners.

Yolanda Garcia Community Planner Award Winners

2010 – Kelley Williams, executive director, Strycker’s Bay Neighborhood Council
2009 – Frances Goldin, founding member of the Cooper Square Committee and a lifelong advocate for the Lower East Side
2008 – Jeanne DuPont , executive director of the Rockaway Waterfront Alliance
2007 – Elizabeth Yeampierre , executive director of United Puerto Rican Organization of Sunset Park (UPROSE)
2007 Harry Bubbins (honorable mention)
2007 Laura Hoffman (honorable mention)
2007 Damaris Reyes (honorable mention)
2007 Wilma Maynard (lifetime achievement)
2006 – Yolanda Garcia (posthumously)


Paul Kelterborn
212-935-3960 ext. 1283

Connect with MAS

Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter Videos on YouTube Videos