Site search


February 2017
« Jan    


Archive for 'Awards'

MASterworks Design Awards

Seven provocative and innovative architecture and urban design projects have been chosen as the 2010 winners of The Municipal Art Society of New York’s MASterworks Design Awards sponsored by Helaba, Landesbank Hessen-Thuringen The winners include Cooper Union’s 41 Cooper Square building designed by Thom Mayne as Best New Building, the Empire State Building lobby restoration project as Best Historical Restoration, and the High Line as a Neighborhood Catalyst. Organized annually by The Municipal Art Society (MAS) and sponsored by international banking and investment group Helaba, Landesbank Hessen-Thuringen, the MASterworks Awards recognize excellence in architecture and urban design completed within the last year across New York City.

The Yolanda Garcia Community Planner Award

The Yolanda Garcia Community Planner Award acknowledges the hardworking leaders of grassroots community-based planning. This award was created in 2006 to honor the work of the late Yolanda Garcia, a community activist from the South Bronx. Under Ms. Garcia’s leadership, the residents of Melrose founded Nos Quedamos and transformed a neighborhood by successfully creating its own vision and alternative to the city’s urban renewal plan. Each year the Municipal Art Society presents the award to an individual who embodies the spirit of Ms. Garcia—overcoming the many obstacles to grassroots, community-led planning and succeeding in bringing neighborhood need and vision into New York City’s planning process. Laurie Beckelman, founding partner of the project management firm Beckelman+Capalino, LLC, will open this segment of the program. Yolanda Gonzalez, CEO of Nos Quedamos and daughter of Yolanda Garcia, will present the award to Kelley Williams, executive director of the Strycker’s Bay Neighborhood Council.