Preservation & Sustainability

landmarks-50-sidebar-3

Landmarks Timeline

April 19, 2015 marks the 50th Anniversary of New York City’s groundbreaking Landmarks Law, the passage of which ushered in unprecedented historic preservation following years of advocacy by MAS.

It’s hard to remember today—with 1,347 individual landmarks, 117 interior landmarks, 114 historic districts, and 10 scenic landmarks across the five boroughs—that at the time of its passage, New York’s landmarks preservation law was a truly revolutionary concept. It would serve as a model for similar laws that were enacted around the country and forever change the way cities treat historic spaces.

See the full story with our new interactive timeline.

Preservation Committee Dates

Please mark your calendars with the following meeting dates!

  • Thursday, November 10, 2016
  • Thursday, December 8, 2016
  • Thursday, January 12, 2017
  • Tuesday, February 7, 2017
  • Thursday, March 9, 2017
  • Thursday, April 13, 2017
  • Thursday, May 11, 2017
  • Tuesday, June 6, 2017
  • Thursday, September 14, 2017
  • Thursday, October 12, 2017
  • Thursday, November 9, 2017
  • Tuesday, December 12, 2017

The dates marked in bold are joint meetings with the Planning Committee.

Preservation Committee Members

The Municipal Art Society of New York’s Preservation Committee is comprised of preservation experts from a variety of backgrounds.

Read their biographies.