Site search

April 2017
« Mar    


2015 Brendan Gill Prize: Call for Nominations

Gill logo.jpg

The 2015 BRENDAN GILL PRIZE Call for Nominations

Dear MAS Members and Friends, Nominations are now open for the 27th Annual Brendan Gill Prize, MAS’s signature award honoring art and culture in our city! The Gill Prize, which includes an endowed cash award, is awarded each year to the creator of a specific work: a book, essay, musical composition, play, painting, sculpture, architectural design, film, or choreographic piece that best captures the spirit and energy of New York City. The nominee may be an individual or a group, a renowned artist or an emerging talent—the Gill Prize strives to bring attention to the constellation of artistic experiences that enrich our contemporary urban life. All works submitted for consideration must have been produced and completed in 2014.  The award celebrates a singular contribution or project, rather than a lifetime of achievement.  The winner will be selected by the Brendan Gill jury, an esteemed group of nine experts intimately involved in the arts and literature of the city. The winner of the 2015 Gill Prize will be honored at a ceremony and reception during the MAS Annual Meeting this spring! Please submit your nomination form via email to before December 16, 2014. If preferred, hard copies with background material can be mailed to MAS at 488 Madison Avenue, Suite 1900, New York, NY, 10022, Attention: Phyllis Cohen. Download the nomination form now!
Download the Nomination Form (PDF)
Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm for arts and culture with our organization. For more information, please visit or call 212.935.3960 x1224. RECENT HONOREES 2014 Michael Kimmelman for his New York Times articles on Penn Station 2013 Louis Kahn (posthumously) for Four Freedoms Park 2011 John Morse for Curbside Haiku 2010 Michael Van Valkenburgh for Brooklyn Bridge Park 2009 Mike and Doug Starn for See it change, see it split 2008 Sufjan Stevens for the BQE 2007 Sarah Jones for Bridge & Tunnel 2006 Christo and Jeanne-Claude for The Gates, Central Park 2005 Yoshio Taniguchi and the new Museum of Modern Art.