Site search

April 2017
« Mar    


MAS Calls for 2009 Brendan Gill Prize Nominations

sufjian stevens 2008 gill prizeMAS members are invited to submit nominations for the 2009 Brendan Gill Prize now through Friday, April 10. The prize is awarded annually to the creator of a specific work — a book, essay, musical composition, play, painting, sculpture, architectural design, film or choreographic work — completed in the previous year that best captures the spirit and energy of New York City. The 2008 prize went to singer/songwriter Sufjan Stevens for his multimedia musical composition The BQE. To learn more about the Brendan Gill Prize, visit Previous Brendan Gill Prize recipients: 2008 – Sufjan Stevens for The BQE 2007 – Sarah Jones for Bridge & Tunnel 2006 – Christo and Jeanne-Claude for The Gates, Central Park 2005 – Yoshio Taniguchi and the new Museum of Modern Art. 2004 – Adrian Nicole LeBlanc for Random Family and Warren Lehrer and Judith Sloan for Crossing the BLVD: Strangers, Neighbors, Aliens in New America. 2003 – John Bennett, Gustavo Bonevardi, Richard Nash Gould, Julian LaVerdiere, Paul Marantz and Paul Myoda for the Tribute in Light. 2002 – Tod Williams Billie Tsien and Associates for the American Folk Art Museum and Alice Rose George, Gilles Peress, Michael Shulan and Charles Traub for the Here is New York exhibit 2001 – Christopher Wheeldon for the choreography in Mercurial Manoeuvers Honorable Mention to the MTA Arts for Transit For Want of a Nail in the 81st Street / Museum of Natural History subway station 2000 – Mauren Hackett for the landscape design of Herald and Greeley Square Parks Honorable Mentions to Allison Prete for the documentary film Lavender Lake: Brooklyn’s Gowanus Canal, and John Kuo Wie Tchen for the book New York before Chinatown. 1999 – Edwin G. Burrows and Mike Wallace for Gotham (Book) Honorable Mention to Phillip Lopate for Writing New York: A Literary Anthology 1998 – Frederick Fisher for P.S. 1 Contemporary Art Center (Architecture) Honorable Mentions to Susan Tunick and Peter Mauss for the book Terra Cotta Skyline, and Milo Mottola for the Riverbank State Park Carousel 1997 – George C. Wolfe and Savion Glover for Bring in da Noise, Bring in da Funk (Musical) 1996 – Hugh Hardy for the restoration of the New York Victory Theatre (Architecture) 1995 – Louis Malle and André Gregory for Vanya on 42nd Street (Film) 1994 – Ang Lee for The Wedding Banquet (Film) 1993 – Joseph Mitchell for Up in the Old Hotel (Book) 1992 – John Yau and Bill Barrette for Big City Primer: Reading New York at the End of the Twentieth Century (Book) 1991 – David Hammons for High Falutin’ (Sculpture) 1990 – Gran Fury for Kissing Doesn’t Kill; Greed and Indifference Do (Poster) 1989 – Kevin Roche for the Central Park Zoo (Architecture) 1988 – Rudolph Burckhardt for a film series at the Museum of Modern Art
Submit a Comment, a Question or a Nomination