November 2017
« Oct    

Stay In Touch

MAS Announces Eighth Annual MASterwork Award Winners

The winners of the 2009 MASterwork Awards are The Standard Hotel for Best New Building, the Times Square TKTS Booth for Best Neighborhood Catalyst, the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center at Parsons, The New School for Design for Best Renovation/Adaptive Reuse, and The Lion House at the Bronx Zoo for Best Restoration.

Launched in 2001, the MASterwork Awards recognize excellence in architecture and urban design, and are organized annually by MAS and sponsored by Helaba, Landesbank Hessen-Thüringen, the international banking and investment group. The four awards presented this year are for projects completed in 2008.

“The MASterwork Awards celebrate the year’s ingenuity in architecture and design across various building types,” said Vin Cipolla, president of MAS. “Year after year, MAS is continually impressed by the way these projects influence the way all of us view and live in the city.”

“Our jury this year has chosen to honor buildings that contribute to the city at every level,” said MAS Chairman and SOM Principal David Childs. “The Standard Hotel is an iconic addition to the skyline, the TKTS booth provides a platform for pedestrians to witness the activity of people and lights in Times Square, the Sheila C. Johnson Center displays art and design at the street level, and the beautiful restoration of the Lion House draws visitors to the Bronx Zoo inside a New York City landmark to see a completely modern and sustainable adaptive reuse project.”

Nominations were reviewed by a distinguished committee which included James Carpenter, principal James Carpenter Design Associates; Elizabeth Diller, principal Diller, Scofidio & Renfro; Richard Meier, managing partner Richard Meier & Partners Architects; and Robert Selsam, senior vice president, Boston Properties.