November 2017
« Oct    

Stay In Touch

MAS Fetes DvF

MAS Annual Gala 2011 at the New York Public Library

Hundreds of civic minded and philanthropic New Yorkers gathered last night as MAS presented the 2011 Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Medal to Diane von Furstenberg at our annual gala.  The black tie event, held at The New York Public Library, honored the fashion icon for her work as an urban pioneer, civic activist and preservationist.

Tim Gunn, Caroline Kennedy, and Chair of The New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission, Robert B. Tierney, were the evening’s honorary chairs.

Fellow designers Oscar de la Renta, Nicole Miller, Norma Kamali and MAS Board Member Yeohlee Teng were on hand to celebrate Diane, as were many other MAS Board Members including Kent L. Barwick; Enid L. Beal; Laurie Beckelman; Paul R. Beirne; Elizabeth H. Berger; Eugenie L. Birch; Lisa Smith Cashin; David M. Childs; Diane M. Coffey; Joan K. Davidson; Gordon J. Davis; Heidi Ettinger; Susan Freedman; Kitty Hawks; Philip K. Howard; Frederick Iseman; Julie Menin; Frances A. Resheske; Stephen C. Swid; Kent Swig; Alison Tocci; Helen S. Tucker; Earl D. Weiner; William H. Wright, II; and Gary J. Zarr.

Also in attendance were Friends of the High Line founders Joshua David and Robert Hammond; former Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis medalist Agnes Gund; former MAS Board Members Ashton Hawkins and Arie Kopelman; architects Toshiko Mori and Elizabeth Diller.

The annual gala was followed by the first annual MAS After Dark after party, hosted by the MAS Urbanists.  The hugely successful event brought out more than 400 young New Yorkers to dance, drink and get to know MAS.

“Between the dinner and the after party, there were more than 700 New Yorkers taking part in a wonderful tribute to Diane von Furstenberg.  It was a magnificent evening, honoring a magnificent New Yorker who has contributed in so many ways to our great city,” said MAS President Vin Cipolla.

The evening raised nearly $800,000 for MAS and was made possible by a host of donors, including the following lead sponsors: Allen and Company; The Janet and Arthur Ross Foundation; Frederick Iseman; Bloomberg; American Express; Tishman Speyer; The Diller – von Furstenberg Family Foundation; The William and Mary Greve Foundation; and Christopher and Sharon Davis.