November 2017
« Oct    

Stay In Touch

MAS Maps New York’s Historic Resources

landmark map manhattan brooklyn 2009

A new map produced by MAS in collaboration with the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission (LPC) provides a citywide look at LPC-designated districts, scenic landmarks, interior landmarks, and individual landmarks. The map is subdivided by city council districts.

A total of 11 new historic districts were designated between January 2006 and June 2008, thanks in part to the increased funding the City Council (at MAS’ urging) has provided the LPC in recent years for research, survey, and designation work. Drawing on previous data from the LPC and the Department of City Planning, the new map summarizes their location in addition to previously-designated resources.

A quick look at the map (download the PDF here) confirms that there are more landmark designations in Manhattan that in any other borough, yet of the 11 new districts, six are located in boroughs other than Manhattan (four in Brooklyn, and one each in Queens and the Bronx). An analysis of total acreage of recently-added districts also showed that nearly 90 percent was added in boroughs other than Manhattan (37 percent in Brooklyn, 35 percent in the Bronx, and 17 percent in Queens). If the LPC is to continue its work to expand designations across the city, it will need the continued support of people who care about the city’s diverse urban forms.