November 2017
« Oct    

Stay In Touch

MAS Names David Childs as New Chairman

Internationally acclaimed architect David M. Childs has been named Chairman of the Municipal Art Society, succeeding the incumbent Philip K. Howard. Mr. Childs, who served as a design partner and Chairman of Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP, and has been a board member of MAS since 1986, will work alongside new President Vin Cipolla, a nationally recognized leader in the preservation, arts and business communities, who joined the organization in January of this year. Mr. Howard will assume the role of Chairman Emeritus.

“We are honored that David Childs will serve as Chairman of MAS as the organization enters a new phase of growth and influence in New York City,” said Mr. Howard. “He (Mr. Childs) is an urban champion, and, as Chair, will provide powerful leadership for MAS in its mission to achieve intelligent urban planning, design and preservation.”

“I am excited to take on this new role at MAS, which has been a tireless advocate for New York City and those who love it,” said Mr. Childs. “MAS has an opportunity to provide invaluable guidance as the city evolves to meet new challenges and to further establish its position as a model for sustainable urban development and living.”

Mr. Childs is the designer for the World Trade Center Freedom Tower at the World Trade Center site, and the new Pennsylvania Station at the historic Farley Post Office building. His more recently completed work includes the new 7 World Trade Center; Terminal 3 at Changi International Airport, Singapore; and Time Warner Center at Columbus Circle, which includes the Mandarin Hotel, a residential tower, a major retail center, and Jazz @ Lincoln Center.

Among his many civic involvements, Mr. Childs has served on the boards of the American Academy in Rome, the Museum of Modern Art, and the National Building Museum. He has received Presidential appointments as Chairman of the National Capital Planning Commission, and as Chairman of the Commission of Fine Arts. He is a fellow of the American Institute of Architects.