August 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jul    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Stay In Touch

Newsrack Law Facing a Summer Sneak Attack: Let Your Voice Be Heard Against Intro. 363

After many years of citizens’ complaints about newsracks blighting our sidewalks and blocking pedestrian curb cuts, bus stops, access to fire hydrants and more, the New York City Council passed Local Law 23, which regulates the placement and maintenance of newsracks on city sidewalks. Last April, the City’s Department of Transportation started to enforce this law. Now an industry-supported bill (Intro. 363) seeks to undermine the enforcement of Local Law 23. During the years of struggle to get Local Law 23 passed, the publishing industry first promised it would police itself, then negotiated and renegotiated to reach a bill it finally decided was soft enough to live with. Now the industry finds itself inconvenienced by the City’s efforts to enforce the very law it agreed to. The publishers have made no attempt to self-regulate the placement and maintenance of their newsracks. A group of concerned citizens on the Upper East Side have made numerous attempts to hand-feed them diligently compiled spreadsheets listing exactly where their non-compliant boxes are located, but our sidewalks remain littered with thousands of newsracks placed illegally and maintained despicably. New York City’s government is now being asked to restrict New York City residents’ rights to safe and clean sidewalks so that an industry that has done nothing but flaunt the law can continue to do so without fear of a fine. At City Council public hearings June 14 and June 23, Vanessa Gruen, MAS’s director of special projects, and other concerned citizens testified against Intro. 363. Despite their and your efforts, the bill moved out of committee and the full Council approved it. The mayor is planning to sign the bill in City Hall’s Blue Room at 4:00 p.m. on July 12. The ceremony is open to the public. We need for the mayor to understand that we want our sidewalks freed from one industry’s overbearing private use of our largest public space. Please write a letter to the mayor. You can e-mail him via this web page: http://nyc.gov/html/mail/html/mayor.html. Or you can send him a fax at (212) 788-2460. His mailing address is:
Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg City Hall New York, NY 10007
Please write a letter to the City Council. You can get their addresses from the City Council website: www.nyccouncil.info. We need for the City Council to understand that we want our sidewalks freed from one industrys overbearing private use of our largest public space.Please write to the City Council members who make up the Transportation Committee to tell them that you oppose Intro. 363. We have listed their e-mail addresses below:
John Liu, Chairman liu@council.nyc.ny.us
Joseph P. Addabbo, Jr. addabbo@council.nyc.ny.us
Sara M. Gonzalez gonzalez@council.nyc.ny.us
G. Oliver Koppell koppell@council.nyc.ny.us
Andrew J. Lanza lanza@council.nyc.ny.us
Miguel Martinez martinez@council.nyc.ny.us
Eva S. Moskowitz moskowitz@council.nyc.ny.us
Diana Reyna no email
James Sanders, Jr. sanders@council.nyc.ny.us
Larry B. Seabrook seabrook@council.nyc.ny.us
Helen Sears sears@council.nyc.ny.us
Lewis A. Fidler fidler@council.nyc.ny.us
Vincent J. Gentile gentile@council.nyc.ny.us
Michael C. Nelson nelson@council.nyc.ny.us
Domenic M. Recchia, Jr. recchia@council.nyc.ny.us
Gifford Miller, Speaker miller@council.nyc.ny.us
For more information, please contact Vanessa Gruen, MAS Director of Special Projects, at vgruen@mas.org.