November 2017
« Oct    

Stay In Touch

Nominate a community planner for the Yolanda Garcia Community Planner Award

Nominate a community planner for the 2013 Yolanda Garcia Community Planner Award.  Do know someone who has worked on a place-based community plan?  Is self-taught? Uses an inclusive, community-drive approach to effect change?

MAS with partner We Stay/Nos Quedamos is now accepting nominations for the 2013 Yolanda Garcia Community Planner Award. This award, which acknowledges the hard-working leaders of grassroots, community-based, participatory planning, was created to commemorate Yolanda Garcia, an extraordinary community activist in the South Bronx. Under Ms. Garcia’s leadership, the residents of Melrose challenged the city, created an alternative to an urban renewal plan, and transformed a neighborhood. The organization created by Ms. Garcia, We Stay/Nos Quedamos, is bringing that community’s vision to life through sustainable planning, design, construction, and programming.

Since 2007, MAS has awarded this honor to grassroots community-based planners including Kelley Williams, executive director of Strycker’s Bay Neighborhood Council; Elizabeth Yeampierre, executive director of United Puerto Rican Organization of Sunset Park (UPROSE); Jeanne DuPont, executive director of the Rockaway Waterfront Alliance; and Fran Goldin, founding member of the Cooper Square Committee and a lifelong advocate for the Lower East Side.

To nominate an exceptional community planner from your neighborhood, go to Nominations will be accepted until April 19, 2013.