Brendan Gill Prize

Brendan Gill Prize winners Matthew "Levee" Chavez and Joshua Jelly-Schapiro with juror Patricia Cruz

Brendan Gill Prize winners Matthew “Levee” Chavez (left, Subway Therapy) and Joshua Jelly-Schapiro (center, Nonstop Metropolis: A New York City Atlas) in conversation with juror Patricia Cruz (right). Photo credit: Vladimir Weinstein.

Brendan Gill Prize

The Brendan Gill Prize, endowed to permit a cash award, is given each year to the creator of a specific work—a book, essay, musical composition, play, painting, sculpture, architectural design, film or choreographic piece—that best captures the spirit and energy of New York City. Whether the nominated individual or group is well known or just emerging, the goal of the Gill Prize is to draw attention to the varieties of artistic experience that enrich our contemporary life.

The prize was established in 1987 in honor of Brendan Gill by friend and fellow MAS board member Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis along with board members Helen Tucker and Margot Wellington.



  • Rebecca Solnit and Joshua Jelly-Schapiro, Nonstop Metropolis
  • Matthew “Levee” Chavez, Subway Therapy


  • Lin-Manuel Miranda, Alex Lacamoire, Thomas Kail, and Andy Blankenbuehler, Hamilton: An American Musical
  • Frederick Wiseman, Inside Jackson Heights


  • Kara Walker, A Subtlety, or the Marvelous Sugar Baby; an Homage to the unpaid and overworked Artisans who have refined our Sweet tastes from the cane fields to the Kitchens of the
  • New World on the Occasion of the demolition of the Domino Sugar Refining Plant
Show more years

* Denotes Honorable Mention