November 2017
« Oct    

Stay In Touch

Recap: 118th Annual Meeting

Vin Cipolla, David Childs, Gretchen Dykstera, Rosanne Haggerty at MAS 118th Annual Meeting

MAS held its 118th Annual Meeting on Tuesday, March 29, at the New World Stages, with the set of Avenue Q as our backdrop. Rocco Landesman, National Endowment for the Arts chairman, opened the evening with a keynote on the importance of the arts community as an economic and cultural catalyst in cities. Landesman’s remarks were followed by a discussion with Gretchen Dykstra, founding president of the Times Square Business Improvement District (now the Times Square Alliance), and Rosanne Haggerty, founder and president of the nonprofit Common Ground, moderated by Eleanor Randolph, a member of the editorial board of The New York Times. The conversation focused on the transformation of Times Square over the last twenty years and the entities that orchestrated the neighborhood’s comeback.  MAS was key in the revival of Times Square through vigorous advocacy to “keep the lights on” in the district.

Following the conversation, MAS members voted in continuing Board Members Paul Beirne, Michael Hoffman, Frances Resheske, Kent Swig, Earl Weiner and Gary Zarr. We also bid farewell to our loyal Board Members Arie Kopelman, Ashton Hawkins and Kinshasha Holman Conwill, who are stepping down because of term limits.