Site search

May 2017
« Apr    


The 2013 Brendan Gill Prize Call for Nominations

GillPrizeWe invite MAS members and friends to submit nominations for the 26th annual Brendan Gill Prize. The 2013 Gill Prize, endowed to permit a cash award, is given each year to the creator of a specific work, a book, essay, musical composition, play, painting, sculpture, architectural design, film or choreographic piece that best captures the spirit and energy of New York City. Whether the nominated individual or group is well known or just emerging, the goal of the Gill Prize is to draw attention to the varieties of artistic experience that enrich our contemporary life. All submissions must have been completed and produced between January 1, and December 31, 2013.  The award is not for a life’s work.  The winner of the Gill Prize will be honored at a ceremony and reception at the MAS Annual Meeting in 2014. The selection of the winner is made by the Brendan Gill jury, an esteemed group of nine people all intimately involved in the arts and literature of the city. Please submit entries to MAS by January 6, 2014, through email to If preferred, hard copies with background material can be mailed to MAS, 111 West 57th Street, 16th Floor, New York, NY, 10019, attention Phyllis Cohen. The nomination form can be found here. Thank you very much for sharing your suggestions with us. For more information, please check our website here or call 212.935.3960, ext. 1224. Past recipients of the Brendan Gill Prize: 2012 – Louis Kahn (posthumously) for Four Freedoms Park 2011-  John Morse for Curbside Haiku 2010-  Michael Van Valkenburgh for Brooklyn Bridge Park 2009 – Mike and Doug Starn for See it change, see it split 2008 – Sufjan Stevens for the BQE 2007 – Sarah Jones for Bridge & Tunnel 2006 – Christo and Jeanne-Claude for The Gates, Central Park 2005 – Yoshio Taniguchi and the new Museum of Modern Art 2004 – Adrian Nicole LeBlanc for Random Family and Warren Lehrer and Judith Sloan for Crossing the BLVD: Strangers, Neighbors, Aliens in New America 2003 – John Bennett, Gustavo Bonevardi, Richard Nash Gould, Julian LaVerdiere, Paul Marantz and Paul Myoda for the Tribute in Light 2002 – Tod Williams Billie Tsien and Associates for the American Folk Art Museum and Alice Rose George, Gilles Peress, Michael Shulan and Charles Traub for the Here is New York exhibit 2001 – Christopher Wheeldon for the choreography in Mercurial Manoeuvers Honorable Mention to the MTA Arts for Transit For Want of a Nail in the 81st Street / Museum of Natural History subway station 2000 – Mauren Hackett for the landscape design of Herald and Greeley Square Parks Honorable Mentions to Allison Prete for the documentary film Lavender Lake: Brooklyn’s Gowanus Canal, and John Kuo Wie Tchen for the book New York before Chinatown 1999 – Edwin G. Burrows and Mike Wallace for Gotham (Book) Honorable Mention to Phillip Lopate for Writing New York: A Literary Anthology 1998 – Frederick Fisher for P.S. 1 Contemporary Art Center (Architecture) Honorable Mentions to Susan Tunick and Peter Mauss for the book Terra Cotta Skyline, and Milo Mottola for the Riverbank State Park Carousel 1997 – George C. Wolfe and Savion Glover for Bring in da Noise, Bring in da Funk (Musical) 1996 – Hugh Hardy for the restoration of the New York Victory Theatre (Architecture) 1995 – Louis Malle and André Gregory for Vanya on 42nd Street (Film) 1994 – Ang Lee for The Wedding Banquet (Film) 1993 – Joseph Mitchell for Up in the Old Hotel (Book) 1992 – John Yau and Bill Barrette for Big City Primer: Reading New York at the End of the  Twentieth Century (Book) 1991 – David Hammons for High Falutin’ (Sculpture) 1990 – Gran Fury for Kissing Doesn’t Kill; Greed and Indifference Do (Poster) 1989 – Kevin Roche for the Central Park Zoo (Architecture) 1988 – Rudolph Burckhardt for a film series at the Museum of Modern Art