Brendan Gill Prize

Established in 1987 in honor of Brendan Gill, renowned New Yorker theater and architecture critic and long-time MAS Board Member

The Brendan Gill Prize is given each year to the creator of a specific work—a book, essay, musical composition, play, painting, sculpture, architectural design, film or choreographic piece—that best captures the spirit and energy of New York City.

The prize was established in 1987 in honor of Brendan Gill by friend and fellow MAS board member Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis along with board members Helen Tucker and Margot Wellington.

Brendan Gill Prize
Left to right: Brendan Gill, Arthur Ross, and Kent Barwick (1988)



Melissa Rachleff, Inventing Downtown: Artist–Run Galleries in New York City, 1952-1965

Julia Wertz, Tenements, Towers, & Trash: An Unconventional Ilustrated History of New York


Rebecca Solnit and Joshua Jelly-Schapiro, Nonstop Metropolis

Matthew “Levee” Chavez, Subway Therapy


Lin-Manuel Miranda, Alex Lacamoire, Thomas Kail, and Andy Blankenbuehler, Hamilton: An American Musical

Frederick Wiseman, Inside Jackson Heights


Kara Walker, A Subtlety, or the Marvelous Sugar Baby; an Homage to the unpaid and overworked Artisans who have refined our Sweet tastes from the cane fields to the Kitchens of the

New World on the Occasion of the demolition of the Domino Sugar Refining Plant


Michael Kimmelman, architecture critic, The New York Times


Louis Kahn (posthumously), architect, Four Freedoms Park


John Morse, artist, Curbside Haiku


Michael Van Valkenburgh, landscape architect, Brooklyn Bridge Park


Mike and Doug Starn, artists See it change, see it split


Sufjan Stevens, musician, The BQE


Sarah Jones, actress and playwright, Bridge & Tunnel


Christo and Jeanne-Claude, artists, The Gates, Central Park


Yoshio Taniguchi, architect, The new Museum of Modern Art


Adrian Nicole LeBlanc, author, Random Family

Warren Lehrer and Judith Sloan, authors, Crossing the BLVD: Strangers, Neighbors, Aliens in a New America

Help us advocate for the betterment of New York City as we have for 125 years.

Become a member Donate
Monument restored by Adopt-A-Monument

Protecting Public Art through Adopt-A-Monument

In response to the deterioration of many of New York City’s outdoor statues and public murals in hospitals, schools and libraries, and the limited resources to preserve them, MAS (in partnership with NYC Parks and the Public Design Commission) launches the Adopt-A-Monument program to raise private funds for the conservation and maintenance of public art.

View Our Full History