Awards + Medals

Celebrating the art, architecture, and activism that deepens our understanding of the city and enriches the lives of New Yorkers.

The Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis (JKO) Medal is awarded annually to individuals who, through vision, leadership, and philanthropy, have made an extraordinary contribution to New York City. The award was established in 1994 to honor Mrs. Kennedy Onassis and her passionate efforts to preserve great architecture in New York City.

View photos from the 2023 Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Medal Celebration on Flickr.

Learn More
November 29, 2023
2023 Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Medal Celebration

On November 29, 2023, we presented the Municipal Art Society’s highest honor, the Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Medal to Patricia Cruz, Jeffrey Gural and Frank J. Sciame.

The Brendan Gill Prize is given each year to the creator of a specific work—a book, essay, musical composition, play, painting, sculpture, architectural design, film, or choreographic piece—that best captures the spirit and energy of New York City. The prize was established in 1987 in honor of Brendan Gill by friend and fellow MAS board member Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis along with board members Helen Tucker and Margot Wellington.

View photos from the 2023 Brendan Gill Prize ceremony on Flickr.

Learn More

Established in 2001, the MASterworks Awards pay tribute to projects completed in the previous year that exemplify excellence in architecture and urban design. From iconic buildings to neighborhood gems, our list of past winners includes the likes of Weeksville Heritage Center, Manhattan District 1/2/5 Garage & Salt Shed, Adams Street Library, McCarren Pool and Bathhouse, the Tenement Museum, the TKTS Booth, El Barrio Bait Station, the High Bridge, and the Gowanus Canal Sponge Park.

View photos from the 2023 MASterworks Awards ceremony on Flickr.

The 2024 Call for MASterworks Nominations will open in early June. Stay tuned for more details!

Learn More

Become a member to enjoy discounts to events and tours.

Learn about membership