Planning

Promoting a more livable New York

MAS promotes diverse neighborhoods, efficient and reliable infrastructure, affordable housing, and inviting open space through comprehensive, community-based urban planning. We testify before and make recommendations to the Governor of New York, Mayor of New York, as well as our State Senate, State Assembly, City Council, City Planning Commission, Board of Standards and Appeals, and Community Boards.

Current Planning Initiatives

a bicyclist rides in a bike lane

Help us continue our planning advocacy work on behalf of New York City and all of its residents for another 125 years.

Become a member Donate

Planning Committee

The Planning Committee advises MAS staff and Board of Directors. Its members come from the fields of planning, architecture, law, and real estate.

2021 Planning Committee Meetings

  • Tuesday, January 12*
  • Tuesday, February 16
  • Thursday, March 11*
  • Tuesday, April 13
  • Tuesday, May 18*
  • Tuesday, June 15
  • Thursday, September 16*
  • Tuesday, October 12
  • Tuesday, November 16*
  • Tuesday, December 14

*Joint Planning and Preservation Committee meetings

  • Richard Bass, AICP
  • Gabriel Calatrava
  • Christopher Cirillo
  • Jerome Deutsch
  • Donovan Finn
  • Bennett Fradkin
  • Moses Gates
  • Dana Getman
  • Bonnie Harken, AIA, AICP
  • Barry Hersh
  • George Janes, AICP
  • Rebecca Karp
  • Christina Ladd
  • Jill Lerner
  • Frank Mahan AIA
  • Chris McCartin
  • Manohar Patole
  • Zevilla J. Preston R.A.
  • Stephen Raphael
  • James Rausse, AICP
  • Brendan Sexton
  • John Shapiro
  • Ethel Sheffer, FAICP
  • Mark Strauss
  • John P. West III
  • Barbara E. Wilks
  • Luc Wilson