Promoting a more livable New York

MAS promotes diverse neighborhoods, efficient and reliable infrastructure, affordable housing, and inviting open space through comprehensive, community-based urban planning. We testify before and make recommendations to the Governor of New York, Mayor of New York, as well as our State Senate, State Assembly, City Council, City Planning Commission, Board of Standards and Appeals, and Community Boards.

Current Planning Initiatives

Planning House Ad

Help us continue our planning advocacy work on behalf of New York City and all of its residents for another 125 years.

Become a member Donate

Planning Committee

The Planning Committee advises MAS staff and Board of Directors. Its members come from the fields of planning, architecture, law, and real estate.

  • Gabriel Calatrava, Chair
  • Richard Bass, AICP
  • Jerome Deutsch
  • Donovan Finn
  • Bennett Fradkin
  • Moses Gates
  • Dana Getman
  • Shayan Lotfi
  • Rance MacFarland
  • Chris McCartin
  • Philip Palmgren, AIA, LEED AP
  • Michael Porto
  • Zevilla J. Preston R.A.
  • Nicholas Quennell
  • Stephen Raphael
  • James Rausse
  • Brendan Sexton
  • Ethel Sheffer, FAICP
  • John Shapiro
  • John P. West III
  • Barbara E. Wilks
  • Barika Williams
  • Luc Wilson
  • Bonnie Harken, AIA, AICP
  • George Janes, AICP