Planning

Promoting a more livable New York

MAS promotes diverse neighborhoods, efficient and reliable infrastructure, affordable housing, and inviting open space through comprehensive, community-based urban planning. We testify before and make recommendations to the Governor of New York, Mayor of New York, as well as our State Senate, State Assembly, City Council, City Planning Commission, Board of Standards and Appeals, and Community Boards.

Current Planning Initiatives

a bicyclist rides in a bike lane

Help us continue our planning advocacy work on behalf of New York City and all of its residents for another 125 years.

Become a member Donate

Planning Committee

The Planning Committee advises MAS staff and Board of Directors. Its members come from the fields of planning, architecture, law, and real estate.

2022 Planning & Preservation Committee Meeting Schedule

(All meetings 9AM – 10:30AM)

  • Tuesday, January 18 – Joint
  • Thursday, February 10 – Preservation
  • Tuesday, February 15 – Planning
  • Thursday, March 10 – Joint
  • Thursday, April 7 – Preservation
  • Tuesday, April 12 – Planning
  • Tuesday, May 17 – Joint
  • Thursday, June 9 – Preservation
  • Tuesday, June 14 – Planning
  • Thursday, September 15 – Joint
  • Thursday, October 6 – Preservation
  • Tuesday, October 11 – Planning
  • Tuesday, November 15 – Joint
  • Thursday, December 8 – Preservation
  • Tuesday, December 13 – Planning

Note: Dates and meeting format are subject to change.

  • Olga Abinader
  • Richard Bass, AICP
  • Gabriel Calatrava
  • Chris Cirillo
  • Jerome Deutsch
  • Donovan Finn
  • Bennett Fradkin
  • Moses Gates
  • Dana Getman
  • Bonnie Harken, AIA, AICP
  • Barry Hersch
  • George Janes, AICP
  • Rebecca Karp
  • Christina Ladd, AIA
  • Jill Lerner, FAIA
  • Frank Mahan, AIA
  • Chris McCartin
  • Manohar Patole, LLM
  • Zevilla J. Preston R.A.
  • Stephen Raphael
  • James Rausse, AICP
  • Brendan Sexton
  • Ethel Sheffer, FAICP
  • John Shapiro
  • Mark Strauss, AIA, AICP
  • John P. West III
  • Barbara E. Wilks, FAIA, FASLA
  • Luc Wilson AIA