Planning

Promoting a more livable New York

MAS promotes diverse neighborhoods, efficient and reliable infrastructure, affordable housing, and inviting open space through comprehensive, community-based urban planning. We testify before and make recommendations to the Governor of New York, Mayor of New York, as well as our State Senate, State Assembly, City Council, City Planning Commission, Board of Standards and Appeals, and Community Boards.

Current Planning Initiatives

a bicyclist rides in a bike lane

Help us continue our planning advocacy work on behalf of New York City and all of its residents for another 125 years.

Become a member Donate

Planning Committee

The Planning Committee advises MAS staff and Board of Directors. Its members come from the fields of planning, architecture, law, and real estate.

2020 Planning Committee Schedule

  • Tuesday, January 14*
  • Tuesday, February 11
  • Thursday, March 12*
  • Tuesday, April 14
  • Tuesday, May 19*
  • Tuesday, June 16
  • Thursday, September 17*
  • Tuesday, October 13
  • Tuesday, November 17*
  • Tuesday, December 15

*Denotes joint meetings with the Preservation Committee

  • Mr. Richard Bass, AICP
  • Mr. Gabriel Calatrava
  • Mr. Jerome Deutsch
  • Mr. Donovan Finn
  • Mr. Bennett Fradkin
  • Mr. Moses Gates
  • Ms. Dana Getman
  • Ms. Bonnie Harken, AIA, AICP
  • Mr. George Janes, AICP
  • Ms. Rebecca Karp
  • Ms. Jill Lerner
  • Mr. Frank Mahan AIA
  • Mr. Chris McCartin
  • Ms. Zevilla J. Preston R.A.
  • Mr. Stephen Raphael
  • Mr. James Rausse, AICP
  • Mr. Brendan Sexton
  • Ms. Ethel Sheffer, FAICP
  • Mr. John Shapiro
  • Mr. Mark Strauss
  • Mr. John P. West III
  • Ms. Barbara E. Wilks
  • Mr. Luc Wilson