Preservation

Promoting a more livable New York.

MAS protects historic and cultural landmarks, neighborhood character, legacy businesses, and public art through values-based preservation. We testify before and make recommendations to the Governor of New York, Mayor of New York, as well as our State Senate, State Assembly, City Council, Landmarks Preservation Commission, Public Design Commission, Board of Standards and Appeals, and Community Boards.

Current Preservation Initiatives

exterior of Grand Central Terminal at night

Help us continue our preservation advocacy work on behalf of New York City and all of its residents for another 125 years.

Become a member Donate

Preservation Committee

Founded in 1984, the Preservation Committee advises MAS staff and the Board of Directors. Its members are advocates, architects, land use attorneys, designers, and planners specializing in preservation issues.

2020 Calendar of Meetings

  • Tuesday, January 14*
  • Thursday, February 13
  • Thursday, March 12*
  • Thursday, April 9
  • Tuesday, May 19*
  • Thursday, June 11
  • Thursday, September 17*
  • Thursday, October 8
  • Tuesday, November 17*
  • Thursday, December 10

*indicates a joint meeting with the Planning Committee

  • Richard Olcott, Chair
  • Angel Ayon
  • Norma Barbacci
  • Matthew Coody
  • Ward Dennis
  • Mary Dierickx
  • Andrew Dolkart
  • Franny Eberhart
  • Joan Geismar
  • Michael George
  • Mary Kay Judy
  • Diane Kaese
  • Jeffrey Kroessler
  • Ken Lustbader
  • Christy MacLear
  • Jonathan Marvel
  • Chris Neville
  • Cristiana Pena
  • Charles Platt
  • Nina Rappaport
  • Kevin Rice
  • Judith Saltzman
  • Frank Sanchis
  • Jennifer Schork
  • Marc Shenfield
  • Roy Strickland
  • Frampton Tolbert
  • Susan Tunick
  • Kevin Wolfe