Open Call for 2024 MASterworks Design Awards

Pay tribute to New York City projects that show excellence in architecture and urban design

June 5, 2024  |  New York, NY

New York City is filled with architectural beauty and brilliantly designed spaces and buildings. This June, New Yorkers can nominate the best new projects that enhance the city’s public realm for the 2024 MASterworks Awards, held annually by the Municipal Art Society of New York (MAS).

Established in 2001, the MASterworks Awards pay tribute to projects completed in the previous year that exemplify excellence in architecture and urban design. The call for nominations for the 2024 MASterworks Design Awards is now open to the public through Monday, July 8th.

Projects can be nominated in up to two of the following categories:

● Best New Building for outstanding architectural design,
● Best Urban Landscape for a new or revitalized open space that contributes to livability and resilience,
● Best Restoration for a project that expertly enhances the original qualities of a significant historic building or structure,
● Best Adaptive Reuse for a project that demonstrates exceptional creativity in adaptive reuse of an existing building or structure,
● Best New Infrastructure for distinctive design in public service projects, and
● Best New Urban Amenity for an addition to the built environment that contributes to a more livable city.
● Best Environmental Innovation for an exceptional project that enhances the environmental resiliency of the city

All nominated projects must be located in New York City and have a completion date during 2023. Nominations should include projects that have made a significant contribution to New York City’s built environment.

Download Press Release
Press Contact

Matt Sollars

Recipients of the 2023 MASterworks Design Awards.

The Municipal Art Society’s diverse list of past winners ranges from iconic buildings to hidden neighborhood gems. In 2023, multiple boroughs were represented, from Battery Playscape winning Best Urban Landscape, to Staten Island Animal Care Center taking the title for Best New Building. View photos from the 2023 MASterworks Awards ceremony on Flickr.

Every year, MAS convenes an esteemed jury of architects, designers, preservationists, scholars, and critics to select the winners of the MASterworks Awards. This year’s distinguished jury will be announced later this month.

Download Press Release